MEDEA Awards 2016

MEDEA Awards 2016

The 2016 awards and prizes are:

The MEDEA Award for User-Generated Educational Media
Awarded to the best entry submitted by teachers, students, learners, parents, professors, individual or organisational representatives in primary education, secondary education, higher education, adult education, vocational education and/or training.
The MEDEA Award for Professionally Produced Educational Media
Awarded to the best professional educational media produced by a professional company or semi-professional production unit such as a broadcaster, professional multimedia producer or publisher, professional web design company, audiovisual or media department in larger institutions or organisations such as universities, government departments, companies, multinational institutions and organisations.
Prize for Media-supported Language Learning
For the entry that best illustrates excellence in the use of media to support and innovate the teaching and learning of languages.
Prize for Media-supported Science Education
For the entry that best illustrates excellence in the use of media to support and innovate science education. This prize is supported by the Inspiring Science Education Project.
Prize for Best use of Media in Higher Education
For the entry that best illustrates excellence in the use of media to support and innovate Higher Education.
Prize for European Collaboration in the Creation of Educational Media
For the best media entry which is the result of European collaboration by individuals or organisations from at least two European Union member states. This prize will be given on behalf of the European Commission.
MEDEA Special Jury Prize
The judges may, at their discretion, present a special award to an approach or production in recognition of exceptional innovation in pedagogic or technical design.

Submit your entry now and take part in the competition!

18 March - M&L partner webinar: Greek winners in the Medea-Awards 2014

On Wednesday 18 March, the M&L Association and the Educational Radiotelevision will organise a webinar on "Greek winners in the Medea-Awards 2014". The aim of the MEDEA Awards is to encourage innovation and good practice in the use of media in education. The awards also promote excellence in the production and pedagogical design of media-rich learning resources.

This year the European Collaboration Award was given to Digital Stories created by the 1st Primary School, Sparta in Greece and Vuorentaustan School, Ylöjärvi in Finland in the framework of an etwinning project and represented at the Awards Ceremony by Maria Alexandra Koumanakou. A second prize for the audience favorite was given to the highly popular "To Pantopoleion" - The Grocery Store, submitted by Safer Internet Hellas & Art Productions, Greece and will be presented at the webinar by Dr Veronica Samara, coordinator of the Greek Safer Internet Center.

The one-hour webinar will focus on best practices of using media and in particular videos for learning. Specifically, two speakers will present their approach in using media to promote safe navigation on the web and also to encourage collaboration through digital storytelling. To find more info & register, click here.

Digital Prevention Platform and Un autre monde / Eine andere Welt win top prizes at MEDEA Awards 2014

This year the MEDEA Professional Production Award went to The Digital Prevention Platform produced by Saffron Interactive Ltd for the Against Violence and Abuse (AVA) service in the UK working to end all forms of Violence Against Women and Girls. The overall prize for the MEDEA User-Generated Award went to Un autre monde/Eine andere Welt, a joint submission from Albeck Gymnasium Sulz in Germany and Collège Frédéric Hartmann, Munster in France.

The winners were announced during the MEDEA Awards Ceremony which took place as part of the Media & Learning Conference in the Flemish Ministry of Education and Training Headquarters in Brussels. This year the competition attracted 237 entries from 29 countries.

All the MEDEA Awards 2014 Finalists

To read more about the MEDEA Awards 2014 Winners and the Finalists, check out the latest press release.

EC Education and Culture MEDEAnet